Mac Andrew sets a record.

AFL player Mac Andrew has earned the fastest ever nomination for The Fronwlow Medal after being arrested in the early hours of New Years Eve.

The Frownlow Medal is awarded to the player whose off-field demeanour epitomises the values of the modern-day footballer and draws attention to the status of footballers as role models to young Australians. It covers Australia’s four major football codes; the National Rugby League (NRL), Australian Football League (AFL), the A-League (Football) and Rugby Union’s Super Rugby competition. NRL player Shaun Kenny-Dowall won the inaugural medal in 2015, while NRL star Jarryd Hayne is the most recent recipient.

Less than 24 hours after Manase Fainu won the medal for 2022, Andrew was arrested and charged by Queensland Police after allegedly failing a roadside breath test on Saturday, January 1.

Proving just how much every Australia-based footballer wants to win the medal, the Gold Coast Suns youngster was stopped by officers in the early hours of New Year’s Eve. He allegedly failed the roadside test, was detained and later charged with driving under the influence of alcohol.

Andrew has placed himself in prime position for the medal in 2023, but has he gone too hard too early? A week is a long time in football, so a year is an eternity, and footballers have proven that they are capable of committing scandal after scandal. Already, Andrew faces competition from NRL players Talatau Amone and TC Robati, whose nominations from 2022 carry over into the new year as they await the outcome of their court cases.

It looks like 2023 will be another busy year for judges of The Frownlow Medal.

Image: NuNa


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: