Blake Ferguson joins The Fronwlow Medal Wife Beaters Club.

Former NRL star Blake Ferguson has joined The Fronwlow Medal Wife Beaters Club after being found guilty of violence against women.

The Frownlow Medal is awarded to the player whose off-field demeanour epitomises the values of the modern-day footballer and draws attention to the status of footballers as role models to young Australians. It covers Australia’s four major football codes; the National Rugby League (NRL), Australian Football League (AFL), the A-League (Football) and Rugby Union’s Super Rugby competition. NRL player Shaun Kenny-Dowall won the inaugural medal in 2015, while NRL star Jarryd Hayne is the most recent recipient.

Ferguson was given a two-year good behaviour bond for the indecent assault of a woman at a nightclub in Sydney in June 2013. He was convicted of groping 24-year-old woman at a bar in Cronulla while celebrating his selection in the State of Origin team.

Ferguson was stood down from the New South Wales Origin squad following the nightclub incident, and was eventually sacked by the Canberra Raiders in 2013. After a career littered with multiple highlights and just as many off-field scandals, Ferguson joins the following players in The Fronwlow Medal Wife Beaters Club:


Kenny Edwards

Zane Tetevano

Ben Barba

Jake Friend

Anthony Watts

Isaac Gordon

Richie Fa’aoso

Anthony Cherrington

Addin Fonua-Blake

Kirisome Auva’a

Jarryd Hayne

Jamil Hopoate

Joel Romelo

Matt Lodge

Stuart Webb

Curtis Scott

Danny Williams

Blake Ferguson


Elijah Taylor

Nick Stevens

Liam Jurrah

Andrew Lovett

Wayne Carey

Albert Proud

Nathan Bock

Rugby Union

Craig Wells

Image: Getty Images


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: