Hymel Hunt follows his cousins to a nomination for The Frownlow Medal Hall of Fame.

Hymel Hunt has been nominated for The Frownlow Medal Hall of Fame for betting on NRL matches, and in doing so joined two of his cousins who have won Frownlow honours.

Hunt was suspended for two matches by the NRL in 2014 after being found guilty of betting on NRL games, and his nomination sees him join cousins Kirisome Auva’a and 2018 Frownlow medallist Karmichael Hunt in the Frownlow family.

The Frownlow Medal is awarded to the player whose off-field demeanour epitomises the values of the modern-day footballer and draws attention to the status of footballers as role models to young Australians. It covers Australia’s four major football codes; the National Rugby League (NRL), Australian Football League (AFL), the A-League (Football) and Rugby Union’s Super Rugby competition. NRL player Shaun Kenny-Dowall won the inaugural medal in 2015 and AFL player Elijah Taylor is the most recent recipient.

The Frownlow Medal Hall of Fame honours former players and players who received media attention in previous seasons, for similarly scandalous behaviour, and its inductees include Ben Cousins and Julian O’Neill.

Hunt will be hoping that his suspension is enough to earn him a place in The Frownlow Medal Hall of Fame, especially if it gives him bragging rights at the next family BBQ.

To find out about the actions that earned Auva’a and Karmichael their Frownlow honours, go to http://www.instagram.com/thefrownlowmedal.

Image: NuNa


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: