Aussie Aussie Aussie…Curtis Scott demands a Kangaroos jersey after Australia Day arrest.

NRL player Curtis Scott is so desperate to play for the Australian national team he got himself arrested and thrown in the lock up on Australia Day weekend.

Scott reportedly resisted arrest and allegedly kicked and punched a police officer in the face before being tasered and sent to the clink, where he spent the night. His antics also earned him a nomination for The Frownlow Medal.

The Frownlow Medal is awarded to the player whose off-field demeanour epitomises the values of the modern-day footballer and draws attention to the status of footballers as role models to young Australians. It covers Australia’s four major football codes; the National Rugby League (NRL), Australian Football League (AFL), the A-League (Football) and Rugby Union’s Super Rugby competition. NRL player Shaun Kenny-Dowall won the inaugural medal in 2015, while NRL player Ben Barba is the most recent recipient.

Scott was granted conditional bail and will appear in court in February, and is adamant that he has increased his chances of playing for his country.

“Mate, how Aussie can you get? Resisting arrest, beating up a pig, getting chucked in jail – and doin’ it on Australia Day weekend – that’s as Aussie as anything. I reckon they should just give me the jersey right now,” he said.

“Plus, I did it right outside NRL headquarters in Moore Park so they saw me real clear – and, I just signed a contract with the Raiders in Canberra, which is the capital – even more Australian.”

Scott was clearly inspired by the actions of another NRL player, Joe Ofahengaue, who had himself arrested for an alcohol-related incident on the same patriotic weekend, and is believed to be switching allegiance from Tonga to Australia as a result.

Scott hasn’t even played a game for his new club but has already dragged it into an off-field controversy and forced a meeting with the NRL Integrity Unit. He has also ensured another big year for The Frownlow Medal, whose nominees for 2020 already include Ofahengaue, Josh Reynolds, Maika Sivo, Manase Fainu, Jarryd Hayne and Jack DeBelin.

Is anyone from AFL, Super Rugby or A-League going to challenge the NRL domination of the award this year?

Image: NuNa


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: