Another sex tape, another Panther, another Tyrone and another nomination for The Frownlow Medal.

Two more Penrith Panthers players star in a leaked sex tape and one of them shares the same first name as teammate Tyrone May, while the other player earns his second nomination for The Frownlow Medal in 2019.

Tyrone Phillips and rookie Liam Coleman were recently announced as the subjects of yet another sex tape leaked on the internet and have thus earned nominations for the most prestigious award in Australian sport. Coleman was already being considered for the award after being accused of involvement in the case of indecent assault of a woman which saw Zane Musgrove kicked out of the NRL.

The Frownlow Medal is awarded to the player whose off-field demeanour epitomises the values of the modern-day footballer and draws attention to the status of footballers as role models to young Australians. It covers Australia’s four major football codes; the National Rugby League (NRL), Australian Football League (AFL), the A-League (Football) and Rugby Union’s Super Rugby competition. NRL player Shaun Kenny-Dowall won the inaugural medal in 2015 and code-swapper Karmichael Hunt was the most recent recipient.

Phillips and Coleman are fringe NRL players who were hoping to make regular appearances in first grade for the Panthers this year. Coleman would normally not earn a Frownlow nomination until he makes his first-grade debut, but the charge of indecent assault is so serious that it saw repeat offender Musgrove kicked out of the NRL, and therefore warrants a nomination.

Phillips, meanwhile, has attracted the attention of Frownlow judges before. He was charged with affray for his involvement in a wild brawl in south west Sydney in 2013.

If Coleman were to win The Frownlow Medal, he would achieve the rare honour of being the first player to win the award despite never having played first grade.

The outcome of the NRL Intergity Unit and a police investigation will determine the career path of Coleman and Phillips, while the court cases and actions of many other footballers will determine the winner of The Frownlow Medal in 2019.



Posted in:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: