Hungry Sharks encircle The Frownlow Medal.

The Cronulla Sharks rugby league team has launched the biggest attack on The Frownlow Medal so far in 2019. The team issued a severe warning to their rivals when the entire club was banned from the Cronulla Sailing Club due to the poor behaviour of a number of players.

The names of the players directly involved in the incident have not been released, but their actions were severe enough for the sailing club to ban entry to every player from the much-loved football team.

The Frownlow Medal is awarded to the player whose off-field demeanour epitomises the values of the modern-day footballer and draws attention to the status of footballers as role models to young Australians. It covers Australia’s four major football codes; the National Rugby League (NRL), Australian Football League (AFL), the A-League (Football) and Rugby Union’s Super Rugby competition. NRL player Shaun Kenny-Dowall won the inaugural medal in 2015 and code-swapper Karmichael Hunt was the most recent recipient.

The Sharkies have become the first entire team to be nominated for the award, although the West Coast Eagles AFL club earned a nomination in 2016 for an ill-advised promotional tweet. The actions of the Sharkies were in response to the quality and quantity of nominations in 2019, a year which has already seen five rugby league players charged with some form of violence against women, and it’s only mid January.

The boys from The Shire face tough competition for The Frownlow Medal this year, but if they can also get themselves banned from Northies, not only would they be homeless, but they would dramatically increase their chances of winning the very popular award.

Image: NuNa


Posted in:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: