Craig Garvey Nominated for The Frownlow Medal Hall of Fame.


NRL player Craig Garvey has been nominated for The Frownlow Medal Hall of Fame after being found guilty of assault in 2014.

The Frownlow Medal is awarded to the player whose off-field demeanour epitomises the values of the modern-day footballer and draws attention to the status of footballers as role models to young Australians. It covers Australia’s four major football codes; the National Rugby League (NRL), Australian Football League (AFL), the A-League (Football) and Rugby Union’s Super Rugby competition. Kiwi international Shaun Kenny-Dowall won the inaugural medal in 2015 before Corey Norman in 2016 and Tim Simona in 2017.

The Frownlow Medal Hall of Fame honours former players and players who received media attention in previous seasons, for similarly scandalous behaviour, and its inductees include Ben Cousins and Julian O’Neill.

Garvey was found guilty of violently attacking a man in a nightclub in Wollongong and was sentenced to 300 hours community service. He was initially stood down by the St George-Illawarra Dragons but later re-instated.

The new Canberra Raiders recruit chose to turn and fight the man in the nightclub in a desperate attempt to join some of the greats of Australian football in The Frownlow Medal Hall of Fame.

The question is, has he done enough?

To learn more about Garvey’s opponents in the battle for entry into the Hall of Fame, go to


First published in March, 2018.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: