James Tedesco Grabs No. 1 Nomination for The Frownlow Medal.


New South Wales No. 1 James Tedesco has earned the first nomination for the 2018 edition of The Frownlow Medal after his involvement in a drunken brawl.

The star fullback traded blows with Italy teammate Shannon Wakeman in a nightclub in Cairns after an apparent disagreement concerning Wakeman’s girlfriend.

The Frownlow Medal is awarded to the player whose off-field demeanour epitomises the values of the modern day footballer and draws attention to the status of footballers as role models to young Australians. It covers Australia’s four major football codes; the National Rugby League (NRL), Australian Football League (AFL), the A-League (Football) and Rugby Union’s Super Rugby competition. Kiwi international Shaun Kenny-Dowall won the inaugural medal in 2015 before Corey Norman in 2016 and Tim Simona in 2017.

Tedesco made the bold early bid for The Frownlow Medal to celebrate his transfer to the Sydney Roosters for the 2018 season and in recognition of the tough competition for the award from fellow footballers.

Fortunately for Italy, the players apparently kissed and made up and will now concentrate on improving Italy’s fortunes after their loss to Ireland.

Tedesco has almost 12 months to further impress judges of The Frownlow Medal and take home the 2018 award.



First published in November, 2017.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: