Jesse Bromwich Nominated for The Frownlow Medal.


Former New Zealand Rugby League captain Jesse Bromwich has been nominated for The Frownlow Medal after allegedly consuming an illicit substance following his side’s loss in the recent ANZAC test.


The scandal also cost Bromwich his captaincy of the Kiwis and a place in the team for the 2017 Rugby League World Cup.

The Frownlow Medal is awarded to the player whose off-field demeanour epitomises the values of the modern day footballer and draws attention to the status of footballers as role models to young Australians. It covers Australia’s four major football codes; the National Rugby League (NRL), Australian Football League (AFL), the A-League (Football) and Rugby Union’s Super Rugby competition. Kiwi international and Sydney Roosters player Shaun Kenny-Dowall won the inaugural medal in 2015, while Corey Norman from the Parramatta Eels won in 2016.

Bromwich provoked anger among Kiwi fans for his involvement in a scandal which occurred just hours after his team’s humiliating loss to the Kangaroos in Canberra.

The aftermath of the arrest also prompted Bromwich to step down from his position in the Melbourne Storm leadership group, which begs the question; Is there anyone left in Rugby League leadership groups these days?

Image: Nuna

First published in May, 2017.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: