Drunken Dane Nielsen Nominated for The Frownlow Medal.


South Sydney centre Dane Nielsen has been nominated for The Frownlow Medal after turning up to pre-season training hungover.

Nielsen was reportedly sent home by Rabbitohs coach Michael Maguire.


The Frownlow Medal is awarded to the player whose off-field demeanour epitomises the values of the modern day footballer and draws attention to the status of footballers as role models to young Australians. It covers Australia’s four major football codes; the National Rugby League (NRL), Australian Football League (AFL), the A-League (Football) and Rugby Union’s Super Rugby competition. Kiwi international and Sydney Roosters player Shaun Kenny Dowall won the inaugural medal in 2015, while Corey Norman from the Parramatta Eels won in 2016.

The former Queensland Origin player had his contract with the St. George-Illawarra Dragons terminated in 2015 for disciplinary reasons.

Fortunately for Nielsen, he is expected to remain in the Rabbit burrow, which means he remains eligible for The Frownlow Medal, the winner of which will be announced in October.

First published in January 2017.

Image: Nuna


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: