Billy Brownless and Garry Lyon to Share Mantle in The Frownlow Medal Hall of Fame.


AFL greats Billy Brownless and Garry Lyon are in line to earn a combined place in The Frownlow Medal Hall of Fame following recent revelations of their propensity for sharing.

The two players locked horns for many years on the field when Brownless played for Geelong and Lyon for Melbourne, but since hanging up their boots they have embraced the adage that it is better to ‘make love, not war’.

The Frownlow Medal is awarded to the player whose off-field demeanour epitomises the values of the modern-day footballer and draws attention to the status of footballers as role models to young Australians. It covers Australia’s four major football codes; the National Rugby League (NRL), Australian Football League (AFL), the A-League (Football) and Rugby Union’s Super Rugby competition. Kiwi international Shaun Kenny-Dowall won the inaugural medal in 2015.

The Frownlow Medal Hall of Fame honours former players and players who received media attention in previous seasons, for similarly scandalous behaviour, and its inductees include Ben Cousins and Julian O’Neill.

They have shared seats on the panel of the AFL Footy Show for many years and it now appears they were at the same time sharing other things away from the television studios.


Image: Nuna

First published in March 2016.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: