Jordan De Goey’s vital new role at the Pies.

Jordan De Goey has a new clause in his contract with Collingwood FC in 2022, and it requires him to win The Frownlow Medal. De Goey almost lost his contract and career after assault charges in the USA, but has been welcomed back to the Magpies on the condition that he brings the award to the famous club.

The Frownlow Medal is awarded to the player whose off-field demeanour epitomises the values of the modern-day footballer and draws attention to the status of footballers as role models to young Australians. It covers Australia’s four major football codes; the National Rugby League (NRL), Australian Football League (AFL), the A-League (Football) and Rugby Union’s Super Rugby competition. NRL player Shaun Kenny-Dowall won the inaugural medal in 2015, while NRL star Jarryd Hayne is the most recent recipient.

The Frownlow Medal Hall of Fame honours former players and players who received media attention in previous seasons, for similarly scandalous behaviour, and its inductees include Ben Cousins and Julian O’Neill.

“Jordan is our best chance ever to win The Frownlow Medal,” said a club spokesperson. “That is why we went to such great lengths to rescue him from the US legal system and renew his contract. The new clause has been added and agreed to, and we are certain Jordan will do everything he can to win the medal.”

De Goey was charged with assault after an incident in a bar in New York in 2021, but the assault charges were downgraded to second-degree harassment, to which he has now pleaded guilty. 

“I’ve promised the club I’ll win them the Frownlow this year,” stated De Goey on his first day back at training.

“I know I can do it. I mean, I’ve never raped anyone like Jarryd (Hayne), but I’ve been nominated almost 10 times over 5 years. Mate, I got nominated three times last year because that’s how much I want this medal, and I want to do it for the club. I love the club, I love the boys. Plus, I had to promise I’d win the Pies the medal when they bailed me out of jail in the states, so, yeah, I owe them big time.”

The most hated club in Aussie Rules has supplied many nominees, including the famous Rat Pack of Ben Johnson, Alan Didak and Dane Swan, but even they couldn’t win the medal. The club itself was nominated after numerous racism controversies, and club legends such as Damian Monkhorst, Nathan Buckley and Brian Taylor have all been in contention for the award.

More than 16 Collingwood players have been nominated for the medal or the hall of fame, and even Eddie McGuire would have been nominated if he’d played AFL, especially after what he said about Adam Goodes.

“…we even recruited (swimmer) Grant Hackett in 2016 when he got stupidly drunk on a plane beside one of our executives. That’s how desperate we are to win this medal, and why we welcomed Jordan back into the club.”

Collingwood is also determined to wrestle the medal back from the NRL, which has won it six out of seven times, and which stole the prize back from the AFL after Elijah Taylor won it in 2020.

De Goey has been nominated, and incurred fines or suspensions, for incidents such as alleged assault, drink driving, fighting in a nightclub, inuring his hand, lying about it to the media and forcing his coach to repeat the lie, and now for second-degree harassment.

What will he do in 2022?

Image: Getty Images


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: