Blake Ferguson joins a new club.

Just days after losing his contract with a Japanese rugby club, Blake Ferguson has been admitted into The Frownlow Medal Wife Beaters Club following an incident of assault in 2013.

The Frownlow Medal is awarded to the player whose off-field demeanour epitomises the values of the modern-day footballer and draws attention to the status of footballers as role models to young Australians. It covers Australia’s four major football codes; the National Rugby League (NRL), Australian Football League (AFL), the A-League (Football) and Rugby Union’s Super Rugby competition. NRL player Shaun Kenny-Dowall won the inaugural medal in 2015, while NRL star Jarryd Hayne is the most recent recipient.

The former NRL player was recently kicked out of NEC Green Rockets Tokatsu after being arrested for alleged assault and possession of cocaine in Japan, and may struggle to find a new club in either rugby code. However, he has earned lifelong membership of The Frownlow Medal Wife Beaters Club alongside some of the greats of Australian football, and earned himself a coveted Wife Beater Tattoo.

Ferguson was found guilty of groping a young woman in the vagina, without her consent, at a nightclub in Cronulla in 2013. He claimed he had mistaken the victim for another woman, but that claim was dismissed.

The NSW Origin and Kangaroos star joins a long list of outstanding footballers in The Frownlow Medal Wife Beaters Club:

1Elijah TaylorAFLSydney SwansFrownlow Medallist 2020
2Nick StevensAFLCarlton Blues, Port Adelaide Power 
3Justin MurphyAFLRichmond, Carlton, Geelong, Essendon 
4Liam JurrahAFLMelbourne Demons 
5Robert LuiNRLWests Tigers, North Queensland Cowboys 
6Stuart WebbNRLSt George Illawarra Dragons, South Sydney Rabbitohs, Sydney Roosters 
7Sam BurgessNRLSouth Sydney Rabbitohs 
8Matt LodgeNRLWests Tigers, Brisbane Broncos 
9Scott BoltonNRLNorth Queensland Cowboys 
10Kenny EdwardsNRLParramatta Eels 
11Zane TetevanoNRLSydney Roosters, Penrith Panthers, Manly Sea Eagles, Newcastle Knights 
12Ben BarbaNRLCronulla Sharks, Canterbury Bulldogs, North Queensland Cowboys 
13Jake FriendNRLSydney Roosters 
14Anthony WattsNRLCronulla Sharks, North Queensland Cowboys 
15Isaac GordonNRLCronulla Sharks 
16Richie Fa’aosoNRLPanthers, Roosters, Eels, Knights, Storm, Sea Eagles 
17Anthony CherringtonNRLSouth Sydney Rabbitohs 
18Addin Fonua-BlakeNRLManly Sea Eagles, New Zealand Warriors 
19Kirisome Auva’aNRLSouth Sydney Rabbitohs, Parramatta Eels 
20Greg InglisNRLMelbourne Storm, South Sydney Rabbitohs 
21Ken McGuinnessNRLWests Magpies, Wests Tigers, North Queensland Cowboys 
22Craig WellsRugby UnionNSW Waratahs, ACT Brumbies, Wallabies 
23Jarryd HayneNRLParramatta Eels, Gold Coast TitansFrownlow Medallist 2021

Image: Getty Images


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: