Bigger than the Dally M: The Frownlow Medal NRL team of 2021.

The greatest honour for any NRL player is not wining the Dally M medal, it’s being named in The Frownlow Medal team of the year. So prestigious is it that in 2021, three full NRL teams have been formed with players who have been nominated for Frownlow honours in this calendar year.

The Frownlow Medal is awarded to the player whose off-field demeanour epitomises the values of the modern-day footballer and draws attention to the status of footballers as role models to young Australians. It covers Australia’s four major football codes; the National Rugby League (NRL), Australian Football League (AFL), the A-League (Football) and Rugby Union’s Super Rugby competition. NRL player Shaun Kenny-Dowall won the inaugural medal in 2015, while AFL player Elijah Taylor is the most recent recipient.

The Frownlow Medal Team of 2021 includes superstars such as rapist Jarryd Hayne, as well as some of the games hottest prospects in Kotoni Staggs, Jai Arrow and Victor Radley. Prop Payne Haas and hooker Brandon Smith are the only players to make the Frownlow team and the Dally M team of the year in 2021.

The Frownlow Medal Team of 2021.

Fullback – Jarryd Hayne

Wing – David Nofoaluma

Centre – Kotoni Staggs

Centre – Stephen Crichton

Wing – Will Smith

Five-Eighth – Cameron Munster

Halfback – Lachlan Lewis

Lock – Jack de Belin

Second row – Corey Harawira-Naera

Second row – Jai Arrow

Prop – Payne Haas

Hooker – Brandon Smith

Prop – George Burgess

Interchange – Josh McGuire, Zane Musgrove, Blake Lawrie, Matt Dufty

TEAM 1 will play in a Tri-Series against teams 2 and 3, also made up of NRL Frownlow nominees from 2021.


Fullback – Reece Walsh

Wing – Gerard Beale

Centre – Zac Lomax

Centre – Curtis Scott

Wing – Aaron Schoup

Five-Eighth – Corey Norman

Halfback – Brandon Wakeham

Lock – Victor Radley

Second row – Jamil Hopoate

Second row – Adam Elliott

Prop – Paul Vaughan

Hooker – Api Koroisau

Prop – Josh Kerr

Interchange – Sione Katoa, Kaide Ellis, Chris Lewis, Dylan Napa


Fullback – James Tedesco

Wing – Tesi Niu

Centre – James Roberts

Centre – Jack Bird

Wing – Tristan Sailor

Five-Eighth – Anthony Milford

Halfback – Phoenix Crossland

Lock – Toby Rudolf

Second row – Corey Waddell

Second row – Tyrell Fuimaono

Prop – Tui Kamikamica

Hooker – Manase Fainu

Prop – Kane Evans

Interchange – Daniel Alvaro, Corey Horsburgh, T C Robati, Tyrone May, Josh Dugan

The Tri-Series will be played over the Christmas holidays in front of packed stadiums, without masks or social distancing, in whichever city is in the middle of a strict COVID-19 lockdown.

Image: NuNa


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: