Johnathan Thurston Rushed into Team ‘Scandal’ for Frownlow Super Series.


NRL star Johnathan Thurston will play in the Frownlow Medal Rugby League Super Series after recovering from a recent calf injury.

Medical staff worked tirelessly with the playmaker to ensure he was ready for the hugely important fixture, where he will slot into Team Scandal, in place of Cameron Munster, who will move to the bench.

The history making series will feature four teams made up entirely of NRL players who have been nominated for Frownlow honours since 2015 and are currently playing in the NRL (or were recently stood down).

The teams will comprise players from NSW, Queensland, England, PNG, New Zealand, Samoa, Fiji and Tonga.

The Frownlow Medal is awarded to the player whose off-field demeanour epitomises the values of the modern day footballer and draws attention to the status of footballers as role models to young Australians. It covers Australia’s four major football codes; the National Rugby League (NRL), Australian Football League (AFL), the A-League (Football) and Rugby Union’s Super Rugby competition.

The Frownlow Medal Hall of Fame honours former players and players who received media attention in previous seasons, for similarly scandalous behaviour, and its inductees include Ben Cousins and Todd Carney.

Frownlow Medal incumbent Corey Norman will star at five-eighth for Team ‘Booze Ban’, alongside Mitchell “dog lover’ Pearce, inaugural Frownlow medallist Shaun Kenny-DowallTim ‘Tickets’ Simona and The (baby) Terminator, Bryce Cartwright.

These stars will play with and against footballers who have earned nominations for offences such as alcohol abuse, drug dealing, assault, dangerous driving, criminal association, drug abuse, domestic violence, imprisonment, drug possession, misuse of social media…and throwing a goanna.

                                                  TEAM “BOOZE BAN”

Backs                                                  Forwards                               Reserves

  • Peta Hiku                                 Kenny Edwards                    Tim Lafai
  • Semi Rardradra                      Jake Friend                            Sam Lisone
  • Tim Simona                             Paul Gallen
  • Konrad Hurrell                       Dylan Napa
  • Shaun Kenny-Dowall             Andrew Fifita
  • Corey Norman                         Bryce Cartwright
  • Mitchell Pearce

                                                         TEAM “IDOL”

Backs                                                   Forwards                                Reserves

  • Valentine Holmes                    Josh Papalii                            Albert Vete
  • Edrick Lee                                 James Segeyaro                     Nene Macdonald
  • Josh Dugan                                Rusell Packer
  • Blake Ferguson                         Zane Tetevano
  • Waqa Blake                                Liam Knight
  • Anthony Milford                       James Tamou
  • Ben Hunt

                                                           TEAM “REHAB”

Backs                                                    Forwards                                Reserves

  • Dylan Walker                            Nate Myles                              Chris Grevsmuhl
  • Manu Vatuvei                           Karl Lawton                            Vai Toutai
  • Kyle Lovett                                Dave Taylor
  • Aaron Gray                                Paul Carter
  • Corey Oates                               Matthew Lodge
  • Jarryd Hayne                            Jason Taumalolo
  • Matt Moylan

                                                     TEAM “SCANDAL”

Backs                                                    Forwards                                  Reserves

  • Kalyn Ponga                              Sam Burgess                             Sam Thaiday
  • Kurt Mann                                 Ben Matulino                            Jake Clifford
  • Tautau Moga                             Siliva Havili                               Cameron Munster
  • Michael Jennings                      Peni Terepo
  • Dane Nielsen                             Jarrod Wallace
  • Jack Bird                                     Bodene Thompson
  • Johnathan Thurston

The Frownlow Medal committee allowed a number of players to participate under special consideration, in order to assist the players to work through personal issues at this difficult time in their lives and provide all of the necessary to support to the players to assist them in moving forward.

As a result,  Tim ‘Tickets’ Simona will be invited, as he is expected to attract substantial sponsorship dollars from sports gambling companies. Matthew Lodge‘s place in Team “Rehab” will help grow the game in New York / USA and Vai Toutai will play, despite being kicked out of the game, because he threatened to call some of his bikie mates on The Frownlow committee.

The games will be played in a Round-Robin format to fit in with State of Origin and the players’ court appearances. If players are injured, or imprisoned, during the tournament, the Frownlow committee is confident that other NRL players will step up and earn a place in one of the teams.

For full details of the incidents which earned these players a place in The Frownlow Medal Rugby League Super-Series, head to 

Image: Nuna

First published in May, 2017.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: