James Hird Nominated for The Frownlow Medal Hall of Fame.


AFL star James Hird has been nominated for The Frownlow Medal Hall of Fame following his admission to hospital for a drug overdose.

The former Essendon coach and player is now the second Brownlow Medal winner to be nominated for Frownlow honours, after fellow Bomber Jobe Watson handed back his medal in 2016.

The Frownlow Medal is awarded to the player whose off-field demeanour epitomises the values of the modern day footballer and draws attention to the status of footballers as role models to young Australians. It covers Australia’s four major football codes; the National Rugby League (NRL), Australian Football League (AFL), the A-League (Football) and Rugby Union’s Super Rugby competition. Kiwi international and Sydney Roosters player Shaun Kenny Dowall won the inaugural medal in 2015, while Corey Norman from the Parramatta Eels won in 2016.

The Frownlow Medal Hall of Fame honours former players and players who received media attention in previous seasons, for similarly scandalous behaviour, and its inductees include Ben Cousins and Todd Carney.

The 2017 inductees into the Frownlow Medal Hall of Fame will be known later in the year.


First published in January 2017.

Image: Nuna


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: