Ben Barba: Dally M, Premiership, Frownlow Medal?


NRL star Ben Barba could become the first player to win the Dally M Medal, a premiership and The Frownlow Medal after he tested positive to cocaine for the second time in his career.

The Sharks grand final hero returned a positive test shortly after scoring a try in Cronulla’s first ever premiership triumph. This followed previous incidents involving problems with behaviour, alcohol and gambling.

The Frownlow Medal is awarded to the player whose off-field demeanour epitomises the values of the modern day footballer and draws attention to the status of footballers as role models to young Australians. It covers Australia’s four major football codes; the National Rugby League (NRL), Australian Football League (AFL), the A-League (Football) and Rugby Union’s Super Rugby competition. Kiwi international and Sydney Roosters player Shaun Kenny-Dowall won the inaugural medal in 2015, while Corey Norman from the Parramatta Eels won in 2016.

The elusive full back won the Dally M Medal in 2012, ironically, the same year in which fellow Frownlow nominee, Jobe Watson, won the Brownlow Medal.

Barba joined a long list of NRL heroes who won a Dally M and premiership during their careers, but he would be the first to add a Frownlow to his trophy cabinet.


The Frownlow Medal winner will be announced in October 2017.

First published in December 2016.

Image: Nuna


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: